Current Soldier A-Z Fund Constitution

Soldier A to Z Fund – Group Constitution 2020 v1.1

  1. Name. The group shall be known as the “Soldier A to Z Fund Group”. This refers to the British Armed Forces Veterans of Operation Banner, who are facing criminal prosecution in relation to their duties in Northern Ireland. They are collectively referred to as “Soldier A to Z”.
  2. Aims and Objectives. The aims of the “Soldier A to Z Fund Group”, (from now on referred to as “the Group”) shall be:
    a) To provide welfare support to any Soldier A to Z, and their dependents as the fund rules & working bank balance will allow.
    b) To provide justifiable financial support for the campaign to stop the prosecution of any “Soldier A to Z”.
    c) To register as a charity when the required criteria are met, or form a Community Interest Company, or other such Company that best supports the charitable objectives of the fund.
    d) Not to borrow funds, or accept funds, that are bound to obligations to change the Groups aims and objectives.
  3. Achievement of aims.
    a) Open governance of the fund to maintain confidence in its operation and attract funding.
    b) Operate a bank account.
    c) Raising funds to support the Group’s activities by;
    i. Annual membership fees.
    ii. Veterans and Supporters making voluntary personal donations to the fund.
    iii. Direct fundraising by traditional and socially acceptable methods.
    iv. Seek grants and funds from other organisations.
    d) Working in partnership with other support groups to benefit any “Soldier A to Z”.
  4. Membership.
    a) Membership of the group shall be open to anyone over the age of 18 who is willing to respect the Constitution and support its objectives.
    b) An annual membership fee may be charged as set by the committee.
    c) Membership may be refused, or withdrawn, from an individual. Decisions on refusal, or removal, of membership will be made by the committee.
    d) The Secretary shall maintain a register of all current Members, of all groups.
  5. Management.
    a) A Committee will be appointed from the membership. It will manage the Group’s activities in line with the Group constitution.
    b) Committee members will usually be elected at the Annual General Meeting (AGM).
    c) The Committee will consist of a Chair, Treasurer and Secretary (the Officers) and up to 4 additional members, to a maximum of 7. Committee members will be encouraged to build confidence and learn new skills by “sharing” Officer posts as Vice-Chairman, Vice-Treasurer and Vice-Secretary, etc.
    d) Any person who is paid for services by the Committee can only attend a Committee meeting if invited to do so. Also;
    i. Any person who is paid for work organised by the Committee may not be members of the Committee,
    ii. The Committee will always seek to make decisions by consensus.
    iii. The Committee will meet at least 3 times per year and hold an Annual General Meeting (AGM) once per year within 15 months of the previous year’s AGM.
    iv. At least 3 Committee members must be present for meetings to take place.
    v. The role of Committee Officers is a purely voluntary position. Officers are not entitled to receive expenses or fees for work undertaken by the group.
    vi. Officers shall be appointed by election at the AGM and shall hold office until their successors are appointed at a subsequent AGM. Any vacancies that occur between AGMs shall be filled by appointments made by the Committee.
    vii. The group shall not be wound up except by a resolution of three-quarters of those present at an Extraordinary General Meeting called for that purpose. In the event of a winding up of the group, any remaining funds shall not be distributed among the members of the Group but shall be devoted to objectives like those of the Group.
  6. Finances.
    a) The Treasurer shall present a statement of the accounts of the group at the AGM. Accounts are to be inspected by an independent person and confirmed as an accurate summary of income, expenditure, assets and liabilities. The Club shall not be run for the private profit of any member or members. Any balance at the end of the year shall be carried over and devoted to the Objects of the group.
  7. Alteration of Rules.
    a) No alteration of rules by addition, amendment or rescission shall be made except at a General or Special General Meeting of the group, provided also that the motion be supported by at over two-thirds of the members present at the meeting.
    b) No amendment shall be made which would cause the Group to cease to be a not-for-profit organisation.

This constitution was agreed on:

Date: 10th June 2020

By the following founder members:

  • • Billy Dunbar
    • Chris Robertson
    • Denise Walker
    • Dennis Hutchings
    • Isabella Jenkinson
    • Paul Skinner – Acting as Chair.
    • Tony Whiston
    • Tracy Ralph